Skip to content

Weekend Update

May 7, 2012

It was a bit of a roller coaster here in Boboville. Saturday we had a movie date with a friend, which went reasonably well (the kids loved the movie, Simon really likes this kiddo, etc.). But eight years have installed new skills in me and I felt like an animal sensing an incoming earthquake, almost from the time he woke up in the morning. The air around Bobo just felt different, off. He was right on the edge, even though he was having a great time. Sure enough, we dropped off his friend and by the time we arrived home I had had shoes tossed at me in the car (among other things), he had tears and snot streaming down his face, and I was red-faced and has lost my Good Mommy Voice.

 Some context, lest ye be alarmed: he didn’t whip the shoes at me. It was more of a super-gentle toss in my general direction, but I was taking so many direct hits from the verbal debris flying around it was hard for my own nervous system to tell the difference. But we made it, and he went straight to his swing to calm down, and we cuddled, and I could tell he was absolutely mortified at his own behavior. And I got to hang out with friends that night, which was wonderful but not always easy. I watched my friend’s twelve year old boy crack jokes and help his sister and get beverages for the table and  I found myself sad, and wishful. Such is life; Bobotown was built on a fault line and that’s just how it is.

But then, as happens, yesterday was absolutely delightful. start to finish. I found myself briefly on edge, waiting for aftershocks, but none came. Bobo was calm, happy, and really productive. We talked about how much better he felt, and how surprised he too is by the days of shaking and rattling. One of his most beloved friends came over and they sang their special songs at the top of their lungs in the car and giggled and plotted and were generally in love with each other in a special second grade way. And we clean up the rubble, and each time shows us where we need to strengthen the foundation, and we rebuild.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

